PitchWars Blog Hop: Why I Wrote My PitchWars Novel

One of my brilliant fellow Mentees had this great idea for a Mentee blog hop where we share the inception of our novels. But before I share my story, I want to say what an honor it is to be in the 2014 group of Pitchwars participants. I was chosen as a Mentee by the incomparable Jaye Robin Brown. The woman is a rad genius, the water and sunlight to my rose and I am so lucky she she picked me. 🙂 Everyone involved has been so giving and generous and amazing! From the participants to the mentors, and of course the PitchWars creator, Brenda Drake. Thank you everyone for making this beautiful experience happen.

As for why I wrote my Literary Magical Realism Novel Le Cirque Du Literati, come close and let me show you . . .

One morning, long before dawn, the night still thick with sleep, I sat at my computer indulging in the echo of a midnight train. I’ve always had a romance with that hollow and lonely sound. I am from the Canadian prairies, after all. But this morning, while sipping my coffee, I saw two teenagers racing hand-in-hand alongside their own train in the far corner of my mind. The image was so clear, I couldn’t look away. I saw the sun shining from a cornflower blue sky, heard the chains clattering and steel on rails. I felt the wind gusting up dust on my skin as they chased the metal monster. So what does a good writer do, but start writing their story of friendship, magic, broken hearts, love, monsters, art and woe, and promise to see them through to bitter or beautiful The End.

Being a pantser, I didn’t know who they were at first, where they were heading or why. But as their story began to unfold, I knew I loved them. I hopped that train with them, sweat bullets in the face of miraculous and terrifying magicians with them. I cried with poet Josephine as she mourned her mother and drowned in fear. I held her best friend, a destitute artist named Nikolai, so riddled with self-doubt, he hid his true self from the world. I watched as the best friends fell in love. That’s when Le Cirque Du Literati opened up, and man, was it pretty. With its lavender sun, cherry-red moon, streets that move of their own accord (depending on the traveler’s needs) in a walled city above the clouds, where poetry, literature, music and art, rule. What better place to send the characters in my charge than to an enchanted Utopian circus where artists, writers, creators and dreamers are revered, not reviled, and wishes can absolutely come true?

It does sound nice, doesn’t it? 

But that’s the thing about art, love and dreams. They require suffering. They demand sacrifice. They insist upon fearlessness. So while this book began with a lonely train’s whistle in the dead of night, it became a personal liberation from fear, a revolution against ignorance, a call to art and war! A story for fellow Literati fighting for their dreams and showing the world what we’re made of. That is the true heart of this story and why happiness and fearlessness will cost my Nik and Jo dearly. But I swear to be with them every step of the way, for I do love a magical circus of the mind.

Perhaps, if you are brave, we will see you there.

From one Literati to another, thank you for reading. 🙂 And, please see the links below to my fabulous, unique, beautiful and eternally enchanting fellow Mentees below, and run don’t walk to their blogs to read why they wrote their books!

Carleen Karanovic: HOPE ON A FEATHER

Heather Truett: RENASCENCE

Tracie Martin: WILD IS THE WIND

http://tracielmartin.com/2014/10/31/pitchwars-blog-hop-why-i-wrote-this-book/

Susan Bickford: FRAMED

Rachel Sarah: RULES FOR RUNNING AWAY

Amanda Rawson Hill: GRIMM AND BEAR IT

Charlotte Gruber: CODE OF SILENCE

Kip Wilson: THE MOST DAZZLING GIRL IN BERLIN

Mary Ann Nicholson: CALAMITY

Nikki Roberti: THE TRUTH ABOUT TWO-SHOES

Anna Patel: EXODUS

A. Reynolds: LE CIRQUE DU LITERATI

Susan Crispell: WISHES TO NOWHERE

Ron Walters: THE GOLEM INITIATIVE

Rosalyn Eves: THE BLOOD ROSE REBELLION

Ashley Poston: HEART OF IRON

Mara Rutherford: WINTERSOUL

Janet Walden-West: Damned If She Do

Kazul Wolf: SUMMER THUNDER

D. Grimm: WITCHER

Kelli Newby: THORNVAAL

Tara Sim: TIMEKEEPER

Elliah Terry: POCKET FULL OF POPPIES

Alessa Hinlo: THE HONEST THIEF

Rachel Horwitz: THE BOOTLEGGER’S BIBLE

Whitney Taylor: DEFINITIONS OF INDEFINABLE THINGS

Lyra Selene: REVERIE

Natalie Williamson: SET IN STONE

Robin Lemke: THE DANCE OF THE PALMS

Stephanie Herman: CLIFF WITH NO EDGE

Shannon Cooley: A FROG, A WHISTLE, AND A VIAL OF SAND

Ruth Anne Snow: THE GIRLS OF MARCH

Elizabeth Dimit: PHOEBE FRANZ’S GUIDE TO PASSPORTS, PAGEANTS, & PARENTAL DISASTERS

Gwen C. Katz: AMONG THE RED STARS

Jennifer Hawkins: FALSE START

Kelly DeVos: THE WHITE LEHUA

Gina Denny: SANDS OF IMMORTALITY

Natasha M. Heck: FOLLOW THE MOON

Esher Hogan – Walking After Midnight

D.A. Mages: THE MEMORY OF OBJECTS

41 thoughts on “PitchWars Blog Hop: Why I Wrote My PitchWars Novel

    • Wow, that is so kind of you and you made me smile. 🙂 But hey, never put your own words after another’s! We are all here because we are different, and that’s what makes this big old beautiful world go round. I can’t wait to read your book. And thank you so much for putting this blog hop together. P.S: I used to live in Courtenay and Van. I miss it so!

  1. You and JRo are an unstoppable team! As much as I wanted to read this when I first heard about it, I want it even more now. It’s definitely my kind of book. Best of luck! Can’t wait to see all your requests roll in!

  2. This sounds SO lovely, and after reading your mentor’s interview with you, you have such a way with words! I’m dying to read this, so hurry up and get it out there!!

  3. Pingback: Why I Wrote THE GOLEM INITIATIVE: Confessions of a #PitchWars Mentee | Ron Walters

  4. Pingback: #PitchWars Blog Hop – Why I Wrote CALAMITY | Mary Ann Nicholson

  5. Pingback: PitchWars Blog Hop – Why I Wrote this Book | Tracie L. Martin

  6. Pingback: PitchWars Blog Hop: Why I Wrote This Manuscript

  7. Pingback: Pitch Wars Blog Hop: “Why did you write your Pitch Wars novel, EXODUS?” | ANNA E PATEL

  8. Pingback: Pitch Wars Blog Hop: Why I Wrote Among the Red Stars | No More Dead Parents

  9. Pingback: Pitch Wars Blog Hop: Behind the Book | Alessa Hinlo

  10. Pingback: The “Why” Behind the Words | The Wild Literati

  11. Pingback: Why I Wrote WAM – A #PitchWars Blog Hop |

  12. Pingback: Wishes and Pies: My Pitch Wars Novel Inspiration | confessions of a fangirl

  13. Pingback: Pitch Wars: Why I Wrote REVERIE

  14. Pingback: Why Thornvaal isn’t SF | Eucatastrophe

  15. Pingback: Pitch Wars: Why I Wrote My Book | EachStarAWorld

  16. Pingback: Why I Wrote ODDITY | Sarah Cannon

  17. Pingback: PitchWars Blog Hop: The Story Behind the Storm | K. Kazul Wolf

Leave a Reply

